Course Availability

By default, all new Moodle courses are hidden from students until the instructor makes them visible.  Until a course is made visible, students are unable to see the course listing in their Moodle courses, both in the portal or on the Moodle home page.  If you intend to use your Moodle section, please make the course visible to students before the start of the semester.

When you are ready to allow students to view and enter the course, please make it visible via these steps:

Within the course, select edit settings from the Administration block:

Screen Shot 2014-01-06 at 8.37.58 AM

Within the first settings box, you will see the Visible line with a drop down menu.  By default, courses are set to “hide.”  Simply change this to “show.”

Screen Shot 2014-01-06 at 8.45.51 AM

Scroll to the bottom and click save changes

*At the end of a semester, please remember to hide all of your courses from students.  This prevents them from entering the course after the semester, and also removes the course from their active Moodle courses.  To do this, simply change the Visible drop down to “Hide,” scroll to the bottom, and click save changes