Zoom App Overview

Open the Zoom desktop app and sign in to your Zoom account. When Zoom opens, you will be presented with the Home screen. From here, you can host a new meeting, schedule a new meeting or join a meeting.

You can host a new meeting with the Start with video or Start without video buttons. When starting a meeting with either of these buttons, by default you are assigned a random Meeting ID that you will need to share with the participants so they can join the meeting.

If you’d rather the Start with video button not use random Meeting ID’s every time and to always use your Personal Meeting ID associated with your Zoom account, click on the Meetings tab at the bottom of the Zoom app and then select Always use PMI for instant meetings on this computer.

To join a meeting, click the Join button on the Home screen and then enter either the Meeting ID or the Personal Link Name. You are given an option to enter your name and choose to disable your microphone and webcam upon joining. You can also join meetings by simply clicking on a Meeting URL that was shared with you. More information here: Joining a Meeting

The Meetings tab at the bottom of the Zoom app will list your scheduled meetings. To start a meeting, hover over it and then click the Start button. There is also an option at the top to see which meetings have been recorded.

The Contacts tab at the bottom of the Zoom app will show everyone that has a Zoom account throughout the VSC. You can select a contact and choose to either instant message or video call them.

To logout of the Zoom app or to change your availability status, click the small dot next to the Settings button at the top.

In-Meeting Overview for Hosts

After starting your meeting, you will be presented with a toolbar at the bottom of the Zoom window.

The first two buttons on the toolbar allows you to mute/unmute your microphone and camera.

The Invite button will allow you to share the Meeting ID via Outlook or will copy the ID to the clipboard for you to share another way.

Manage Participants shows everyone connected into the meeting. From this list you can hover over a person and choose to mute/unmute them or you can mute/unmute all participants at the bottom.

The Share button allows you to share your screen(s) or an individual app that is currently open on your computer. You can also turn on a shared whiteboard that everyone can write on.  There are additional sharing options under the arrow to the right of the Share button, one feature will allow multiple participants to share at the same time.

When you share your screen, the toolbar will move to the top of the screen. There will now be an Annotate button that will allow you to write on top of whatever is being shared. Some options will be listed under the More button. If you want to stop sharing, click the Stop Share button at the top.

The Chat button shows any active instant messages to you or the group.

Record allows you to record the meeting to the cloud or to your own computer. More information about recording can be found here: Recording a Meeting.

Breakout Rooms allows you to split up the meeting into smaller groups. You can allow Zoom to automatically divide up the participants into groups or you can manually choose to do it yourself. When you are ready, you can bring everyone back into one large group.

End Meeting will give you the option to end the meeting for everyone or for you to just leave the meeting yourself.

You can make the Zoom window go full screen by click the Enter Full Screen button in the top-right corner. If you do not see this option, try moving your mouse to make it appear since this option and the main toolbar at the bottom automatically hide after a few seconds.

Settings

The Zoom app has lots of settings that you can adjust. From the main Zoom app, click on the Settings button in the top-right corner.

On the General tab, you can adjust certain settings such as dual monitor support and entering full screen automatically when starting or joining a meeting.

On the Audio tab, you can adjust the volume levels of both the speakers and microphone. You can also make the app always use computer audio when joining a meeting or you can always mute your microphone when joining a meeting.

IMPORTANT: If you sign in to one of our telepresence rooms as yourself instead of the pre-configured teacher account that is stated in the guide, you must turn off Automatically adjust volume underneath the microphone settings. Failing to do this will alter our AV equipment audio levels and you will need to call support for assistance.

On the Video tab, you can turn on HD video support for slightly better quality. You can also turn off the mirror effect if you do not want Zoom reversing your video when hosting a meeting.